Washington, DC 20510

November 30, 2023

Dr. Miguel Cardona Secretary of Education Department of Education 400 Maryland Ave SW Washington, DC 20202

Dear Secretary Cardona,

We are writing today to request an update on the progress of the Department of Education's Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM), RIN 1870-AA16, "Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex in Education Programs or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance," published in the federal registrar on July 12, 2022 and RIN 1870-AA19, "Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex in Education Programs or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance: Sex-Related Eligibility Criteria for Male and Female Athletic Teams," published on April 13, 2023.

It is our understanding that these proposed rules were scheduled to be finalized last month, and we are concerned about the delay. For years, students across the country have lived under former President Donald Trump's Title IX policies that weakened protections for sexual assault and harassment survivors and sowed confusion about the extent of students' protections against sex discrimination, including discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, and sex characteristics.

We appreciate the hard work put into updating the draconian Trump-era Title IX rule and other Title IX policies and know the Biden Administration shares our concern for student safety and wellbeing.

We request an updated timeline and urge you to dedicate all necessary resources to finalize these rules as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

Mark Jalaan

Mark Takano Co-Chair Congressional Equality Caucus

Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

Bernie Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

4 noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

, in Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

arban d

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Tim Mitane

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

ALL GTU

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

1/221

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

ie Dinse

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Tinde J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

dy Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

owner

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

MALC

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Ritchie Ione

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Yvette N. Clarke

Member of Congress

Swelwell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

u &. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

phana Haycs

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Hillary 9. Scholten Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

mosy Houkha

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Jeblie Wasserm

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Trake

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Nalle.

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

fatt & house

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

nittom

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

(Kelly Mir

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

**C301** 

mber of Congress

from S. Pussfy

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

4. Stansbury elanie

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Queo Vorma (

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

N Tokude

Ju Tokuda Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress